Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Attention: open in a new window. Print

Our diverse Board consists of seven non-executive Directors, each of whom has extensive business and corporate experience. 

Dr Nicholas Pappas AM

Qualifications & Experience: Dr Nicholas Pappas is a Sydney lawyer in private practice. In addition to his Board role, he serves on the Bank's Audit & Remuneration Committees. He is Chairman of South Sydney District Rugby League Football Club Limited (the Rabbitohs), and South Sydney Members Rugby League Club Limited. He also serves on the Boards of the Steve Waugh Foundation – Australia, the Hellenic Club Limited and Melbourne's Hellenic Museum. Dr Pappas is Secretary of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocesan Council and Trustee of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia Consolidated Trust. He was appointed to the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2013.

The Hon Steve Bracks AC

Qualifications & Experience: The Hon Steve Bracks AC was Premier of Victoria for eight years. He now advises several leading Australian finance and service sector corporations. Mr Bracks also holds three major honorary positions: as an Adviser to the Prime Minister of Timor-Leste and Honorary Chair of The Union Education Foundation. He is Chairman of the superannuation fund Cbus; a non- executive Director of Jardine Lloyd Thomson Australia. Chairman of AFL Sports Ready; Chairman of the Kardinia Park Stadium Trust; and a member of the Monash Business School's Business Advisory Board (BAB); The Australian Republican Movement's Republican Advisory Panel (RAP), and the West Melbourne Alliance Board.

Fouad Chaker

Qualifications & Experience: Non-Executive Director, Bank of Sydney. Mr Chaker is also the Chief Commercial Banking Officer at Bank of Beirut, with more than 35 years of banking experience.

Roger Dagher

Qualifications & Experience: Non-Executive Director, Bank of Sydney. Mr Dagher is also the Group Chief Financial Officer at Bank of Beirut, with more than 25 years of banking experience.

Ben Edney

Qualifications & Experience: Mr. Ben Edney is Chairman of the Board Risk Management Committee. Mr. Edney is an accomplished finance industry expert with over 25 years domestic and international experience with National Australia Bank and KPMG in advisory, risk and restructuring. He has strong strategic and technical skills across corporate finance, restructuring and risk having led NAB’s problem loan management throughout the GFC. Mr. Edney is also chairman of Williams Holdings Limited in New Zealand.

Gregory Gav

Qualifications & Experience: Independent Non-Executive Director, Bank of Sydney. Mr Gav is Director of Mars Property Group.

Nikolas Hatzistergos

Qualifications & Experience: Mr Hatzistergos is the Chairman of the Board Audit Committee. He is also Managing Director of William Buck (NSW) Pty Ltd and Chairman of William Buck International Limited. He is a Director at St Basils Homes and Hellenic Club Limited. He is a Director of the Management Board and Governing Council, Member of Praxity (AISBL). He is Director and Chairman of the Audit and Finance Committee for South Sydney District Rugby League Football Club Limited.